Bye goose!

Madelyn and I went by the cemetery to change out Carter’s flowers today after school. I like to change his flowers with the seasons and the holidays, so we had to switch from the Christmas flowers to the Valentine’s flowers. Once baseball season starts, we will switch over to the royal blue flowers because I’m certain that gives our KC Royals good luck.

The cemetery where Carter is buried has an area that is for all the little Angels that have died. It’s situated right next to a pond. That sounds beautiful, right?! Well, not right now. Right now there are what seem like hundreds (yes, that’s an exaggeration) of geese waddling around this area. You know what that means?! Lots of goose poop!!! It’s pretty gross and you have to be quite alert as you walk through the grass to get to his spot as to not have poop all over your shoes.

Madelyn was quite intrigued with all the “ducks” today. When we arrived at the cemetery, she walked along saying “hi, hi, hi” to each of the geese. Each time we visit Carter, I try to explain to her that he is her big brother just as I do any time she becomes interested in his pictures at home. Of course, she looks at me like I’m crazy (those of you that know Madelyn know the look). As we left, she exclaimed, “bye goose!” I wonder at what point it will make sense to her that she had an older brother. At what point will she realize and understand that we go to the pond to visit Carter and not the geese? I’m sure I need to give up hope for it to happen at any point in the near future, but I hope that one day she understands.

5 thoughts on “Bye goose!

  1. Tabitha says:

    You know, a funny thing about geese – they are loud, they poop a lot, and they don’t come off as cuddlers… But, you get them in the sky, and they are graceful, they are able to fly over a thousand miles to get where they want to be, as long as they fly together. I think it is so sweet that your dear Carter is buried next to his own little flock of “geese.” These little things that come into our world, poop everywhere, make weird noises, and show us what grace and beauty and doing incredible things really look like… Madelyn will understand some day, and she will be so moved and grateful that you always took the time to show her the love of a mother in a way that many others will never know.

    • Shari says:

      that was beautiful Tabitha. I agree that the geese are beautiful flying above connecting the sky with the earth causing a glimpse to the heavens. For some reason when I looked at you today Darcy, I thought about Carter and how strong you must be and I silently admired your strength. I imagine Madeline does too even if she can’t articulate it now, she’s your daughter. She will understand.

  2. What happy memories for her- She will always associate these early visits with those amazing creatures: GEESE! I know, we don’t see them that way anymore, but remember when geese and ducks were fascinating? Especially when you fed them and they went butt-up to grab the stuff that WE threw for them? It was thrilling! An empty cemetery is dry and boring to a child, I am so glad she will have happier associations than that when she starts to understand!

  3. By the way,in case you think I am crazy, I am totally NOT recommending feeding these particular geese! You would never have a peaceful moment there again! And best wishes for your shoes…. (Maybe you could have “Goose Shoes” just for the cemetery? Throw them in a baggie as you leave, hose them off when you get home?)

Leave a Reply

